Moving Mania: The tale tailend – U-haul, the dealer, the move

A Surprise: Not all U-haul® dealers the same

This type of moving  experience is a first for this writer. 

Patrick Lalande on WordPress

A moving experience, for sure.  And since I’m making an effort to learn Spanish this year; Una experiencia móvil, para seguro.  Which I believe translates as “An experience moving, for sure.”

Kudos should be given to Dale Gibson who plies his trade of U-haul® dealer from “Treasures & More“, in Sarasota, Florida. 

Dale seems to be a man who does his best to help any of the strangers that should grace his shop.  He recently rented me the truck that I used to move.  Before then, he didn’t know me from a hill of beans.  Here is why he deserves some recognition. 

Everything was in place when I scheduled the renting of a truck one size larger than I thought I would need.  I also had lined up help to do all of the heavy lifting.  And with the the foolish thought of saving money, decided that one day would be enough to do the entire job. 

Then the plans I’d made started to unravel.  My help was unable be in town the day I needed to move.  That left one other person, my beloved Sue, and me to move everything. 

I knew moving was going to take more time than I had planned.  I knew that it was going to cost much more money because I would need the truck for, at least, one more day.  I knew that it would take more room in the truck because I wouldn’t be able to stack as effeciently.  This was the state of my mind when I received a call a day before the scheduled move. 

“Hi, this is _____ from the truck rental company. (Oh, no!  The other shoe.)  I was calling about the truck rental for tomorrow.”  My heart jumped, my spirits sank. 

“Yes”, I said. 

“Well, I was calling to confirm the rental and …” (Here we go.)” …the truck is ready right now.  I realize it is a day early but I can give you another day with the truck at no charge if you’d like to pick it up today. ”

Sue and I picked up the truck believing that the one day extra would help, and thanked Dale for his kind considerations.  While the contract was being printed, Dale informed me that there was no 22′ trucks and if it was ok, he’d give us the 26′ for the same price.  It was and he did. 

I asked Dale about the costs for my fall-back position.  How much was it going to be if we needed the truck for another day, if at all possible?  Without hesitation, Dale said he would arrange it for us to have another day without charge but that there was one stipulation.  We would also have to except more free miles to go along with that day.  He did not know the blessings he bestowed upon us. 

Sue and I knew when we left Dale’s shop, that the cost of our worst-case scenario was the same as our best case scenario, and that cost was the same.  We didn’t need the mileage, but the extra days were to come in very handy.  We were elated.

This was the best case scenario.

Our best case, with help, timetable on the day of the move was starting to load the truck by 9:00 am, finish by 2:00pm, travel for one hour, unload in one and a half hours, and return the truck by 5:00 pm.  

This is how the move went. 

Although our help couldn’t be there, Sue and I started loading the day before at about 4:30 p.m.  We worked until dark which came about 6:00 pm. 

The day of the move started at 9:00 a.m., so as to not disturb our neighbors.  The water sprinklers in our path came on about 10:00 a.m. and ran for about an hour.  We couldn’t move until they went off.  Loading resumed and continued until 10:30 p.m. 

One hour for travel, and then Sue and I spent from 11:30 p.m. to 3:30 a.m., the next day, digging out the bed and prepping the house for occupation. 

The next day started at 7:30 a.m., with a scheduled install of cable, phone, and Internet going on while we emptied the truck. 

We finally got the truck returned by about 2:00 p.m., the day after the scheduled move. 

Now you can see why Dale deserves our thanks.  Without Dale’s considerations, our moved would have been a disaster.   

Just as Andrew Krauss, of inventRight, went the extra mile for a stranger, Dale did too.  With this type of action being such a rarity in today’s business environment, any who do deserve our praise.  Dale has reached that rank. 

Dale, my beloved Sue and thank you profusely, and wish you luck, and prosperity in the future.

With our move now complete, life is settling down to a normal pace. 

Patrick  

 

 

Leave a Reply

