National Techmark, bibomedia and spam – What an Review!

The devil is in the details

Patrick Lalande on WordPress

Although new to me, these techniques probably wouldn’t drawn in any but the very stupid, the very naive, or the very corrupt.  What am I talking about?

Spam – (most often veiled or less than veiled advertisement) to knowingly send unsolicited e-mail or to post inappropriate messages to many people.

Spammer – Ones who spams.

After Dan’s exposé of National Techmart’s rather blatant spam I would have thought they would have learned their lesson.  Apparently not. 

 Dan started his post by saying;

National Techmark (site is mostly text with stock photos) left an odd comment on my About Page:

(Editor’s note: link supplied by a Google search)

 Showing up, verbatim, on my author’s page was the same “comment” that Dan received 5 days earlier.

advertising inquiry:https://datafox.wordpress.com/

Hello,

I’ve recently looked over your site and believe that your reader-base and visitors might be a possible advertising venue for us.

I am interested in traditional link advertising as well as using link “blurbs” on certain pages of your site, or on certain articles – perhaps even submitting articles. This includes but is not limited to purchasing a post also. We are open to any idea that would allow us to capture interested readers, but would prefer to avoid the traditional “Ads by Google” and “Sponsored Links” sections.

Please let me know if you’d be open to discussing advertising possibilities further.

Thanks in advance,
Travis
National Techmark

And Dan’s post points out the same passage to which I took offence and for the same reasons:

I am interested in traditional link advertising as well as using link “blurbs” on certain pages of your site, or on certain articles – perhaps even submitting articles. This includes but is not limited to purchasing a post also. We are open to any idea that would allow us to capture interested readers, but would prefer to avoid the traditional “Ads by Google” and “Sponsored Links” sections.

by saying, ”

Right off the bat, he’s talking about deceptive advertising practices.  Purchasing a post?  Avoiding “Ads by Google” and “Sponsored Links” would blend his ads into my site, mixing them with the causes and sites I proudly support.

Dan’s last comments were directed towards explaining to them how they might have done it differently.  I, alas, would not have been so kind.  If you need to compare his to mine go to Dan’s post but I feel a little stronger about this. 

And to add insult to injury, the next comment that comes in is one from bibomedia (who doesn’t deserve a link here) that simply reads “Have a nice day!” and the signature is not from a person but a link to their website.  Talk about simplifying spam.  The proof is in the pudding, or in this case, the method that they tried to drop their link into my work.

Well, this is how I feel about spammers. 

These odious mooches plague the very entrails of the Internet with their unchecked immorality.  As the devil incarnate in the story “The Devil and Daniel Webster”, their only role is to profit from, and impugn, the honest, hard-working efforts of wholesome people everywhere. 

They don’t need an education.  They need a life and a soul.  They pilfer the spirit of common decency, and so should be severely shunned by any good person; least they too be drawn into the slime of the spammer.

Now that I’ve written my own exposé of these techniques, I feel the exercise has been very cathartic.  Now I’m going to wipe the slime (the comments) from my blog and go along my merry way.

Before I do, I’d like to offer my condolences to those companies with techmark in their name.  In my research of National Techmark, I found more than a few, who appear to conduct business honestly and ethically.  This post was, in no way,  intended to reference them. 

Patrick

PS  If you want to see a review of a “Good” company click here.

27 Responses

  1. I just got the same exact message through the contact form on my site. Thanks for the heads up. I already knew to delete it though once I found their site.

  2. I too got similar post through my disclaimer and going to delete, thanks for the alert.

  3. Yepp Bibomedia drops 🙂 in About section.. Spam but maybe more..(Stealing Photos and Illustrations? Ups..Just thinking..) but hey! a Good News:

    “This blog has been archived or suspended for a violation of our Terms of Service.”
    😀 Bye Bye Bibo..:D

    I Totally Agree with your Post Patrick

  4. Bibimedia just dropped the 🙂 in my About page. Pleased I ‘googled’ them and found this. It will be deleted.

  5. […] Posts National Techmark, bibomedia and spam – What an Review!Smart Car Test Drive ScarcitySmart Car creator Daimler AG announces new battery tech for 2008 Geneva […]

  6. Thank you, all, for your input. I am thrilled to hear how this post has helped.
    I just posted about another bane of my blog’s existence. Maybe this will help too.

    Patrick

  7. Thanks for the expose! I decided to goodle bibomedia instead of clicking on the link (I guess we just start knowing when something looks funny)

  8. Just a note to all.

    I have noticed that bibo had two sites. The link they throw in comment sections like mine where there is no restrictions to who can comment. And… The wordpress sites that restrict comments to wordpress members.

    WordPress shut done their membership blog but their other site is still up and using the same tactic.

    What I found was funny is they they spammed scraper sites just a indescrimately.

  9. I just did my part by reporting Bibomedia to Akismet as spam. I googled Bibomedia and found the same spam on multiple blog’s About pages, and then found this entry. A pox upon them.

  10. […] Posts National Techmark, bibomedia and spam – What an Review!Smart Car creator Daimler AG announces new battery tech for 2008 Geneva Auto ShowThe World is […]

  11. i JUST got that exact email word for word! usually i email people back to see what i can conjure up, but for whatever reason i google searched the first few sentences and got here.

    so THANKS for posting about it 🙂

  12. Argh! I get those exact same comments and paid link requests! Thanks for the info, I’m glad I just deleted everything.

  13. […] I wrote  “National Techmark, bibomedia and spam – What an Review!” I wasn’t looking for anyone to respond to my post.  I was just doing what comes […]

  14. I just received the same e-mail throug my contact form. I wrote back to find out more but perhaps I’ll leave this company well alone.

  15. Oh man, I just replied to them. Now I know to ignore them. Hope they won’t bother me. Thanks for the info!

  16. i also received the same mail
    i really surprised bcoz my blog was a new one.
    thx. for educating me…

    can anyone tell me that what is the basic purpose of national techmark for doing all this?….

  17. Thanks for the heads up on this, I received the same email. I figured it was spam, but wanted to research it to make sure.
    Thanks!
    Toni

  18. Thanks for the heads up; II received the same email.

  19. I received this email from “National Techmark” under the name “Domains By Proxy”. I have no idea what any of that means, but I’m glad I googled it and read your post! Thanks!

  20. I just got an email from National Techmark and your post just saved me a world of hurt.

    *promptly deletes email*

    thanks!

  21. […] I wrote  “National Techmark, bibomedia and spam – What an Review!” I wasn’t looking for anyone to respond to my post.  I was just doing what comes […]

  22. I just got the same email. I’ve read where others have been paid by them but principally only for paid-per-posts. I’m deleting the solicitation.

  23. It’s a blow to my ego to find out the offer isn’t real. 😦 But I am glad that so many people are talking about and it was so easy to uncover the deception. Thanks for the heads-up.

  24. Thanks Guys!, I also received an email from them

  25. Thanks for the informative post. Earlier today, I received an email inquiry from a rep at NT. Maybe they have learned from past mistakes, as the email was shorter than the examples mentioned in this blog and it the above comments. The letter I received:

    “I am interested in buying an advertising spot on your website/blog, I’ve Been Mugged. Please email me to discuss this possibility further at your earliest convenience. We are open to any idea that would allow us to capture interested readers. Please let me know if you’d be open to discussing advertising possibilities further. If not, I thank you for your time.”

    I’ll listen to what NT offers, but I am informed and wary thanks to the comments on this blog.

    George
    Author
    http://ivebeenmugged.typepad.com

  26. Interesting “Exposé” (lol, what was exposed?!). You had an email from a company obviously looking to promote themselves in a different way? What’s new about that? The fact that people are shock that its a generic email, making it ‘spam’ is funny. If this person is sending this email to 100 companies/websites, why would he write it individually?

    I’m really quite amazed at your disgust and shock at receiving an email such as this. You obviously have no idea about how high-level online marketing works.

    ‘Right off the bat, he’s talking about deceptive advertising practices.’

    How is this deceptive? It’s a commonly used advertising method online, which I’d imagine is used be every Fortune 500 company. All major websites/portals (not your wordpress blogs…) quite openly offer services such as this…

    Do you think when (example name are simply to create a picture) BankingTech does an article on Cisco’s new routers, Cisco didn’t pay them $20,000 to do so?

    How is that any different to what you’re being proposed? In that scenario, BankingTech gets good content which their readers will like, and Cisco gets great advertising.

    Get real and open you eyes to how companies market online.

    Fair play for this company for trying to do more unique things than GoogleAds. There’s much more rubbish on them than within well written advertorials.

  27. I have got this in my blog comment too, thanks for your article, that comment directly went into my spam box.

Leave a Reply

