GPS and the late adapter

Where to get GPS Coordinates, for the late adapters

Patrick Lalande on WordPress

 While researching a small project, one thing I needed was the GPS coordinates for my adopted home town. 

In my search I came upon an interesting little site that I think bears bookmarking.  Realizing that I might not be the only late adapter to “Geocoding”, the marking of locations using the GPS locations, I thought I’d pass on this link to GPS Visualizer: Free Geocoders.  On the header bar you will find a way to geocode an address.

While there, you might want to geocode your city and drop that into my comments.  For those who would like to share some photos and descriptions of their favorite hometown, I am interested in having the best guest blog/blogged here.  If there is enough interest, I’d like to make a series out of it.  Below is an example.  

My adopted home town’s coordinates are latitude 27.043N and longitude -82.236W.  What city do I live in?  I’ll give you a little description:

myakkarvr1_320x240.jpg
Parks and Recreation Photo

Located somewhere within the United States, this small bedroom community has set it’s sites on becoming an inspiration for other towns across America by tackling growth issues caused by moving from a quaint retirement community towards being  more family-oriented.  It has lower real estate prices than the area’s average, is strategically located between two major commercial and cultural area hubs, is growing the transportation infrastructure and economic base, and, yet, it still retains a uniquely rural feel by the projected friendliness of of its citizens. 

February 25th, 2008 – It was recently named a Tree City USA community by the Arbor Day Foundation to honor its commitment to community forestry. It is the ninth year it has received this national recognition.

The Tree City USA program is sponsored by the Arbor Day Foundation in cooperation with the National Association of State Foresters and the USDA Forest Service  

Where is this little jewel of the pirate coast?

If you’re sure, leave a comment.

Patrick

Leave a Reply

