Recession: Loose Ships Sinks Lips

Cruise Ship Analogy pretty, pretty close.

I was asked when I first posted on the “coming” recession why I chose a cruise ship to represent the economy.  I think it fits.

https://datafox.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?action=edit&post=27

I was asked why the last one I wrote sounded like I gave up trying to explain where the economy is going.  I think that fits as well.

Back in March when the DOW was last below the 12,000 mark it carved out a pretty sharp V.  I heard one stock  market pundit on TV say that while we weren’t looking the market bottomed.  Many people expressed that same philosophy since then but I haven’t heard them say that today. 

I had to laugh.  The market won’t hit a true bottom until everyone, important enough to say that again, EVERYONE, gives up on it.  They call that capitulation. 

You’ll see it if you watch the headlines.  I haven’t seen it yet.  As of close as the beginning of this week I saw a chart saying that the economy really wasn’t as bad as people thought.  That chart and article was the proof that the bottom wasn’t 11,600(+-) that I was hearing.  The Loose ship syndrome.

Today the Dow closed at 11,453. 

I can truly tell anyone interested that the headlines don’t lie.  Sometimes they just don’t tell the truth.  Its the loose lips syndrome.

For any others that just won’t listen?  It’s the Loose Ships Sinking Lips syndrome.

Remember this one when I again point out TIPS and MyCustomDictionary as being the next big thing in web marketing. 

Patrick Lalande 

Leave a Reply

